Shot/Seen

Some words, some photos

‘Til the crows come home

with 3 comments

crows_roost

Every evening, in the trees along Still Creek in Burnaby, the Vancouver area’s population of crows gathers to roost and it is a spectacular thing to see and hear. We went out tonight to see them gather, and I managed this shot in the dying light of the day. I need to go back some time, with tripod and a plan of attack.

Tech stuff: Shot at 1600 ISO on my Canon G10, in program mode with a -1 EV to hold the setting sun. Noise reduced with Noise Ninja, which I purchased especially for this occasion.

crows_roost2

As well as settling into the trees, the crows cover nearby buildings as they wait for dark. This was shot with my Canon SX100 IS, also on program, at 800 ISO.

Written by yadb

February 21, 2009 at 4:58 am

Posted in 1

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In the middle searching old friends, found your website.Just passing by.By the way, your website have great content! :)

    _______________________________
    Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
    Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

    Glen

    March 1, 2009 at 6:13 pm

  2. Hello, my name is Liam and I am a student at Nootka Elementary School in Vancouver. I wish permission to use this picture of a murder of crows that I found on your website in a movie I’m making for class! What a wonderful picture! I can put your name and website in the credits of my film if you like!

    Thank you

    Liam

    Liam

    May 8, 2009 at 6:27 pm

  3. Good internet site.. i will definitely come back again soon:D

    haisinydiaply

    May 20, 2009 at 10:17 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

